The Tone Poet by Mark Rickert

Cameron- the Tone Poet

Bloom- the Maestro

Kalek, Charlie, Hob, Madison, Carrie….

All amazing characters. I think, if I have to choose my favorite, it has to be Cameron.  He goes through many struggles in his life, they seem to begin when his parents are lost in an accident.  He does not realize how important he is.  He does not realize how special his gift is.  He soon finds out.

My favorite part of the book is the end.  Not because I was ready to be finished, but the culmination of events.  Every scene, every sentence was leading nowhere but the final performance.  The book did not end the way I hoped, but was inevitable.  It would not have been complete if I had my way.  The world is not a happy place with happily ever after.

I would definitely give this book 5 stars.  I was hooked from the first page, the opening concert was amazing, so vivid.  I could see the scene when Bloom was “born”.  I wasn’t sure where the story would go from such an awe inspiring opening, but it continued to keep me enthralled.

I am recommending Tone Poet to anyone who likes mystery, suspense, supernatural, or great fiction.  It is over 400 pages, it was over way too quickly.  I would definitely read a sequel, although I’m not sure if a sequel could match the artistry of the Tone Poet.

Leave a Reply

