Rose and the Magician’s Mask by Holly Webb

In Venice everyone wears masks. Masks are magical, it’s what keeps the city afloat. What happens when the mask belonging to a masterful magician is stolen from the king in London and taken back to its home in Venice? This is Rose’s job. She is brought to help the lord of the house, Mr. Fountain, search for the thief and mask. Along on the journey are Bill, Gus, Freddie and Bella.
My favorite part of the story is the dance. Rose wants to dance, but no one will dance with her until a boy dressed in white offers to take her hand. It is a wonderful scene. As a reader, I thought I understood the relationship between the characters, this scene proved it for me. There is a relationship that goes beyond friendship, they are a family.
I am interested to find out what secrets Mrs. Fell knows, or thinks she knows. I will definitely be looking for other books by Holly Webb about Rose and her adventures. I will be recommending this book to friends and younger readers I know. I am giving this book five stars because of the relationship between the characters. A family does not have to be a group of people tied by blood. A family is a group of people who care for each other. If an adventure comes along to bind these people closer, all the better!

Leave a Reply

