Isis, Vampires and Ghosts-Oh My! by Janis Hill

I was given an advanced copy of this book for review from Netgalley.

I’m not sure about my feelings on this book. I understand the concept of the story. At points it is engaging and entertaining. More often than not, I found myself drifting off.
I like language. Colorful language has its place and in some stories can carry the excitement. Unfortunately, not here. Fore some scenes every sentence contained a curse word. It felt to heavy, too much. I’m by no means a prude, but didn’t enjoy the coarseness. I do realize Stephanie was frustrated, it felt forced. Stephanie, at pints, sounded like a teenager learning to curse and not always hitting at the right time, rather than the adult she is supposed to be.
If I have to pick a scene I like, it would be when Stephanie spends the first night with Estella. Great scene. Great thinking on Stephanie’s part in drawing the circle. This is one scene when the dialogue fell into place. Branwyre and Stephanie had a wonderfully colorful conversation, full of put-downs, mind games and expletives.
I have to give Isis, Vampires and Ghosts-Oh My! three stars. There are parts of the story that are entertaining but many are trying too hard. I’m not sure if I will recommend this book to readers. Due to the adult themes and coarse language I cannot recommend this to many of my students.

Leave a Reply

