Juliet’s Nurse by Lois Leveen

I was gifted Juliet’s Nurse by Lois Leveen by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I don’t know what else I can say about Juliet’s Nurse, other than it would make Shakespeare proud! I loved every page from beginning to end. The nurse plays an integral role in Romeo and Juliet, but I’m glad she has a history.
The bond she shares with Juliet, and Tybolt, explain so much of the story. She is more than a mere nurse, or nanny, she is everything to Juliet and Juliet to her. Without her Juliet would be all alone, her father busy seeking favor with the king, and her mother spends so much time in misery.
There are many twists and turns that I was not expecting, but upon rereading passages should have seen. The language is beautiful and the phrases leave a lot to the imagination, in a wonderful way! Although it is not as flowery as Shakespeare, it belongs along side Romeo and Juliet.
I know a sequel of this story isn’t possible, but I hope Lois Leveen writes more stories. I’ll be on the lookout for one!I am giving it five stars due to the imagination, the real people, the heartache, and the love and hope in Juliet’s Nurse!

Leave a Reply

