Groundwork by Paul McDonagh

Groundwork, by Paul McDonagh, is the story of Gerry. Gerry is not quite sure where he fits in. He’s not quite sure if he’s English or Irish. He’s not quite sure what he wants to do when he finishes school. The book begins with Gerry digging his first hole. He is helping his uncle, Sylvie, dig in the bog searching for his wife others say ran away, but Sylvie is sure is buried. His father dies in a work accident and soon Gerry is digging different holes, trenches.
The story follows Gerry, his mother, a few coworkers, and family through a couple of years. He is faced with what to do when he finishes school, the death of his father, how to take care of his mother, how to find a job and how to keep a job when the economy takes a turn. He is tormented with the urge to take revenge on the person he thinks had a hand in his father’s death.
I enjoyed Groundwork. Every time I thought I knew what was happening Paul McDonagh pulled me back and threw a curve ball. I hope there is a sequel in the works so I can find out what new things happen for and to Gerry. I am curious to find out if he ever finds a true home and if he ever discovers who he is. Is he Irish, English, or someone else? I would definitely purchase this book and give it five stars. It is a quick read I am sure I’ll recommend to my friends.

Leave a Reply

