Teller of Tales by Ray Dacolias

I was given a copy of Teller of Tells, by Ray Dacolias, by inkspand in exchange for an honest review. I thoroughly enjoyed the stories. The book began strong, the first two stories were my favorites!
To be honest, I was a little worried when I began the first story, Janitor, I wasn’t sure what I had gotten myself into. There is a very heavy thread of racism and prejudice. I forced myself to continue to read and am glad I did. It very quickly takes on a different tone and becomes an obvious lesson on human nature. Sam becomes an example of a man, the way he is treated for being different and, due to his actions, the way he becomes a well-respected part of the town.
The second story, Love, is a beautiful story of love and loss. Evelyn and her father are in the hospital. After a touching scene of goodbyes one of them is left to carry on. Not only carry on, but find a cure for Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. It becomes one of the stories that left me hoping there really is a way to find so much strength in a time of loss.
The last story is about Joe, A Purpose Given. He was a charmed man until one day loses everything. Instead of turning against the world he continues to live and ignores the taunts and various stares from others around him. By the end he has found a reason for living and is able to teach others.
This book is an easy read and I loved it, once I got past the first couple of paragraphs of story one! I would definitely recommend this book to friends and would purchase if offered in an ebook!

Leave a Reply

