The Parables of Jesus Made Simple by Matthew Robert Payne

I was given the chance to read The Parables of Jesus Made Simple by Matthew Robert Payne by inkspand in exchange for an honest review.
The book is made up of chapters. Each chapter is based on a parable, a simple story used to illustrate a moral or spiritual lesson, told by Jesus in the Gospels of the Bible. For many the Parables of Jesus are stories told by Jesus to teach us lessons to live by. For others, the Parables are good literature meant to teach, but not necessarily as a religious message, but more a humanitarian moral lesson. I belong to the first group. I was excited to find a book with another insight for understanding what Jesus was trying to teach us by telling His stories.
I find the ways Matthew relates the Parables to the present and introduces stories about his personal life to help explain the meanings he finds. I would have never thought about telling a story about McDonald’s in relation to a Parable, but it makes sense. I can relate, there were times I was working and we would hear the manager, or owner, is coming and everyone would run around like maniacs to be ready. If things were up the caliber all the time the scramble would not be necessary.
I have to disagree with Matthew’s statement that people pray stupid things. Just because it may not be important to him personally, it may mean the world to the person praying. I can admit I’ve prayed for trivial things, but at the time it meant a lot to me. The difference is, I understand what I pray may not be what God has planned and, while important to me at the time, I realize it wasn’t as life changing as I thought it might have been.
Matthew has interesting ideas about the different Parables and what they mean. He does a wonderful job of relating it to current events, as well as pulling in other Bible versus to back up his explanations. I would recommend this book to my religious friends as an addendum to their readings and a different viewpoint as they read the Bible, especially the Parables of Jesus. I also recommend this to my non-religious or non- Christian friends as a companion to the wonderful literature the Bible is.
I give this book 4 stars.

Leave a Reply

