Gabriel Finely and the Raven’s Riddle by George Hagden & illustratedby Scott Bakal

I was given the opportunity to read Gabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle, by George Hagden & Illustrated by Scott Bakal, by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
I want to be an amicus! The introduction is wonderful. I entered the book knowing the history of the ravens, valravens and amicus. They are expanded during the book but the early introduction made the reading much more pleasurable- I knew what the characters were talking about up front. George has wonderful character development. I was surprised and amazed at every turn. I felt the trepidation Gabriel felt when meeting Septiums and Crawfin. I felt the urgency Endora felt while trying to keep Paladin safe while teaching him everything he needed to know about his amicus.
The ravens are very creating in the way they tell each other apart, which birds are good ravens or bad s valravens. They tell each other riddles. Gabriel’s father had begun to train him before he disappeared when Gabriel was nine by telling him riddles and having him be creative. I am glad Gabriel was able to share this love of riddles with his friends, especially Pamela, Abby, and Aunt Jaz.
I love the quote, “Who knew owls love puns? I wonder if that goes for other birds. I bet woodpeckers prefer knock-knock jokes. Maybe larks like limericks and puffins prefer palindromes!”
I so enjoyed the journey Gabriel and Paladin face while trying to find the tarc and Gabriel’s father, Adam Finley. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes a good adventure with a little mystery and fun riddles.

Leave a Reply

