The Girl on the Train: A Novel by Paula Hawkins– Sidekick to the Novel by Anna Call

I was given the chance to read The Girl on the Train: A Novel by Paula Hawkins– Sidekick to the Novel by Anna Call in exchange for an honest review.
First, as noted in the beginning of the book, this is not a standalone book. It is meant t be read along with the reading of The Girl on the Train. The first couple sections of the book are meant to be read along with the book, while the final sections and Final Analysis is meant to be read after The Girl on the Train.
I liked the Chapter reviews. They were well written and helped me know what I may have missed and what I should be looking for upon the second reading. Anna makes clear distinctions of the action of Rachel, Megan and Anna. She also gives further insight into Scott and Tom. The Character guide was short and sweet, but I felt the Character Analysis section was wonderful.
Anna offers two ideas for additional storylines. I like that one was a sequel and the other was a prequel. The clearly lead to more questions that could be additional ideas for further stories or avenues of adventure for Rachel or Scott. Although she states. “Tom’s backstory is summarized at the end of the book”, I might be interested in further study of Tom and when he decided to make the choices he did.

I do think this Sidekick would be a great addition to reading with and follow reading The Girl on the Train. I give this book five stars.

Leave a Reply

