A Spool of Blue Thread: A Novel by Anne Taylor– Sidekick by Samantha Allen

First, as noted in the beginning of the book, this is not a standalone book. It is meant to be read along with the reading of A Spool of Blue Thread: A Novel by Anne Tyler. The first couple sections of the book are meant to be read along with the book, while the final sections and Final Analysis is meant to be read after A Spool of Blue Thread.

The Chapter Analysis is very detailed and lends itself to questions that arise in the chapters. Her final question for Chapter 9-11 really brings to mind the chance for several opinions and options to be offered as answers.

My favorite sections have to be the Character Guide and Closer Look. I always have to keep note or mark the different characters as they appear in stories I am reading. An extensive guide, such as the one Samantha provides, helps because they are all in the same place and I do not have to find the person in my note taking. The Closer Look gives further insight into Abby, Red, Denny, Junior, and LInnie Mae- offering many characteristics I may have glossed over or missed during my reading.

I enjoyed the offerings of the alternate endings and prequel. I would be interested in the possibility of reading the second alternate ending Samantha offers. What if things were different? What if the characters had made a different decision? How would this have affected the ending of the story?

I believe this Sidekick would be a good addition to reading with and follow reading A Spool of Blue Thread: A Novel by Anne Tyler. I give this book five stars.
I was given the chance to read A Spool of Blue Thread: A Novel by Anne Tyler– Sidekick by Samantha Allen in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

