The Bone War of McCurtain County: A True Story of Two Ordinary Men’s Quest for Treasure and Their Epic Battle Against Extraordinary Odds by Russell Ferrell

I like the flow of the book.  While it is a scholarly work, it is written in a format that a person reading for enjoyment will like.  The first couple of chapters are a background setting of the times, the relationships of people and the people in the region and the participants as well.  I always love a book where I am required to take out my dictionary.  This book had a few really good words, and the sentences were great- full of imagery- sometimes I felt I could “see” the events as they unfolded.

It definitely helped that Russell got to interview such a wonderful presence as Cephis.  I could tell Russell felt respect for Cephis and Sid Love.  I loved reading about the trials and tribulations these men faced, from Cephis finding fossils while working in the fields to finding the Acrocanthosaurus and the struggles against politicians and other institutions.

I was hooked from page one and am sad to say I’ve finished the book.  I highly recommend it to anyone interested in a non-fiction book with the feel of a great narrative.

I was given the opportunity to read The Bone War of McCurtain County: A True Story of Two Ordinary Men’s Quest for Treasure and Their Epic Battle Against Extraordinary Odds by Russell Ferrell- by Inkspand.

Leave a Reply

