The Lost Town: Bringing Back Trochenbrod by Avrom Bendavid-Val

The Lost Town: Bringing Back Trochenbrod by Avrom Bendavid-Val is an account of Avrom finding his ancestral village of Trochenbrod which had disappeared from history during the Holocaust.

I appreciated the search for his past.  The book is full of facts, research, stories and photographs of his history.  As someone who has been trying to find my family history and where we came from, I was truly engrossed by his ability and diligence.

This is a good read for young readers.  It is very well written and I love the footnotes.  There were still a few words I had to look up, which I applaud!  I love a book where I have my dictionary out and can learn new terms.  I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in history.  He fully details the struggles of his family and fellow Jews living in Trochenbrod, and the area surrounding- which caused the creation of the village in the first place.  His stories from the former villagers, diaries, and historical events are pulled together marvelously to paint a full picture of not only village life, but the reasons for the decisions that shaped their daily lives.

I intend to reread this book to revisit and gain any insights I may have missed the first read.

I was given the opportunity to read The Lost Town: Bringing Back Trochenbrod by Avrom Bendavid-Val- by Reading Deals.

Leave a Reply

