The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase by Wendy Mass

The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase by Wendy Mass

First, I’ll begin stating that I haven’t read The Candymakers.  I have heard of and read other books by Wendy Mass, I haven’t heard about the first book until I finished The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase, which is the sequel.   I do look forward to reading the first book so I have more background for the sequel, but I didn’t feel lost.

A group of friends win the Annual New Candy Competition.  Logan, the son of the Candymaker- owner of Life is Sweet candy company, was thought to be the sure winner of the competition- but didn’t.  Phillip, the son of the man who wants to ruin Life is Sweet, won the competition with the invention of Harmonicandy.  Miles is the member of the group who loves to study and has just found the new joy of geocaching.  Daisy is the one in the group who has a secret life the friends know bits and pieces of and are all sworn to secrecy.  The four of them are to take a promotional trip for the Harmonicandy, but it turns in to a journey of discovery.  Surprises are around every corner.

The writing is beautifully crafted and I felt I really got to know all of the characters and why they act the way they do.  Each section was from the perspective of one of the characters and explained what they were doing at a specific point in time.  It was a great enhancement and explained how each character played a role leading up to the road trip.  Each of the children was given an “ability” that helped remind me that all of us are special and just need to find our own “thing” that makes us unique.

I love this story, and can’t wait to read this to my nephews!  I have recommended it to students and adults to read.  I hope there is a third book in the series.  I’ll be sure to read it after I finish the first book.

I was given the opportunity to read The Candymakers and the Great Chocolate Chase by Wendy Mass- by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

